Work twice as hard as others ⁓ Elon Musk

Elon Musk said in his interview:

If other people are putting in 40 hours in a week, and you’re putting in 100, you will achieve in four months, what it takes them a year to achieve. […] That’s the type of work ethic an entrepreneur needs to have.

It may look unachievable goal for some, where most of the people are happy with 30-40 hours work a week. But an entrepreneur takes responsibility for many jobs on his/her shoulder, so no wonder that more than 100 hours work a week is needed to reach the goal.

There are total of only 168 hours available in a week on this planet and entrepreneur is just a human being, who has certain essential needs for living. On a tight time-budget, if one dedicate 10 hours a day for other stuff (like sleeping, eating, etc.), about 98 hours are still achievable for working, well, in theory. I decided to try it for past few days. I didn’t manage to reach 100 hours work a week, because my social contacts are as important in my life and I love cooking, but I think, working 70-80 hours a week is in my power. That is still twice as much as normal job would want from me, making me, in theory, twice as productive. In fact, I’m seeing the results of my schedule that many of my goals are coming into fruition. Working hard is certainly painful, but achieving something makes you forget all of it.

What Elon Musk said in his interview is the best piece of advice one entrepreneur can get. Honestly, anything is possible in this world, only if you work hard enough. Don’t forget: success is the best medicine for all the pains in life.

And,

Life is only that much worth, as much you make out of it.
⁓ Me

Watch the above-mentioned excerpt from an interview here:

comments powered by Disqus